Posted in Monday Monologue

Monday Monologue – The Deed Is Done

Another short story for our Monday Monologue spot. This time it is about a man belittled once too often.

The Deed Is Done

The deed is done. My hands are still shaking, but the I feel such relief. As if a huge weight has been lifted from my shoulders. No more nagging, no more arguments, no more walking on eggshells in my own home. 

She always had to have the last word, didn’t she? Always had to undermine me, make me feel small. Well, she’ll never do that again. I showed her who’s really in charge around here. 

I can still see the look of shock and terror on her face as the life drained from her eyes. That pathetic, pleading expression, begging for mercy. As if she deserved any after the hell she put me through. After all the times she belittled me, made me feel less than a man in my own home.

The way she crumpled to the floor, gasping for breath, clutching at her throat. It was almost…satisfying. To see the light leave her eyes, to know that I had silenced her forever. No more cutting remarks, no more putting me down. Just silence. Blissful, beautiful silence.

I stand here now, surveying the scene, and I feel…oddly calm. The adrenaline has worn off, and I’m left with a sense of clarity I haven’t felt in years. No more walking on eggshells. No more tiptoeing around, afraid of setting her off. I’m free. I’m finally free.

Of course, there’s the matter of the body. I’ll have to dispose of it, make it look like she just…disappeared. Maybe a hit and run, or a mugging gone wrong. Something that won’t lead back to me. I’ve thought this through, you see. I’m not some amateur. 

She always did have a flair for the dramatic, so maybe I’ll stage it to look like she ran off with some younger man. That would be a fitting end for the old shrew, wouldn’t it? The humiliation would be the cherry on top of my newfound freedom.

As I look around the room, I can’t help but feel a sense of…pride. I’ve taken back control of my life. I’m the master of my own destiny now. No more living in fear, no more walking on eggshells. Just me, and the sweet, sweet silence.

Yes, the deed is done. And I have no regrets. She had it coming, and I’m the one who delivered justice. I’m the one who reclaimed my life. And that, my friends, is a victory worth savouring.

Author:

Hello, my name is Mike Jackson. If you have any comments about the post you have just read I'd love to read them.

Leave a comment