Posted in Weekly Writing Prompt

Weekly Writing Prompt

Welcome to our weekly writing prompt.

Every Friday I will be posting a picture and inviting you to write a short story inspired by that picture. The suggested word length for the story is less than 250-words – but there is no minimum. So, if you fancy writing a 6-word story, then go for it!

Don’t feel your story has to have a murder mystery theme to it – simply write whatever the picture conjures up in your mind.

It would be great if you could share your stories. You can do this by putting your story in the comments section below. Let’s go.

Writing Prompt

Here is the picture prompt for this week.

Have fun and don’t forget to share your story in the comments below. Every now and again we will read some of them out in our podcast.

Author:

Hello, my name is Mike Jackson. If you have any comments about the post you have just read I'd love to read them.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Prompt

  1. The note said to be at the bench nearest the west entrance to the park, so here I was, tightly wrapped in my old army greatcoat.

    I arrived fifteen minutes early in the hope I’d be able to check the area, but the sudden fog limited my vision to just a few yards.

    I should’ve been more careful. I never should’ve left her alone when I went back into the house to get my pipe.

    As I sat there, I thought back over the last three days. I hunted high and low for her. I visited all her favourite places, but I found no evidence that she had been present. Then came the letter.

    The Victorian style peasouper intensified, and I was distracted by the calls of the crows nesting in the nearby tree. What if I never see her again? What if she’d been hurt?

    I heard feet approaching on the stone path. Could this be who I’m here to meet?

    With my heart in my mouth, I turned to peer into the gloom as a large shape materialised from the mist. 

    False alarm, it was a bobby on his beat, likely heading back to the station.

    Suddenly, I felt someone sit on the other end of the bench.

    “Hi! I’m so sorry I’m late, had a last-minute customer” I turned and saw a young woman clasping a small handbag and a medium sized cardboard box.

    She reached into the box and removed a small ginger cat. “Cleopatra!” I shouted, “I’ve missed you”.

    “I’m Jenny,” said the woman. It’s a good job you had her chipped before she escaped. I got your address from the national database.

    Like

Leave a comment