Posted in Weekly Writing Prompt

Weekly Writing Prompt

Welcome to our weekly writing prompt.

Every Friday I will be posting a picture and inviting you to write a short story inspired by that picture. The suggested word length for the story is less than 250-words – but there is no minimum. So, if you fancy writing a 6-word story, then go for it!

Don’t feel your story has to have a murder mystery theme to it – simply write whatever the picture conjures up in your mind.

It would be great if you could share your stories. You can do this by putting your story in the comments section below. Let’s go.

Writing Prompt

Here is the picture prompt for this week.

Have fun and don’t forget to share your story in the comments below. Every now and again we will read some of them out in our podcast.

Author:

Hello, my name is Mike Jackson. If you have any comments about the post you have just read I'd love to read them.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Prompt

  1. I’ve always loved coming to the park, just to sit and watch the world go by. I bring my notepad so I can plan out the coming week. I’ve done this since my husband passed away just eighteen months after we got married, but that was over forty years ago now.

    I like to plan, I hate surprises and like to feel that I’m mistress of my own destiny. I’m the same at work, everything is mapped out to the smallest detail. Shift rotas, stock deliveries and all manner of arrangements to make my week as stress free as possible.

    The last few years have been difficult. First there was the COVID pandemic which disrupted the best laid plans of a care home administrator and then there were the tightening of the regulations which called for a whole lot more planning and organisation.

    I’m a creature of habit you see and after the insurance money from my husband’s unexpected death ran out, I needed another way to fund mine.

    It was so easy, get the old dears to put a small bequeath in their wills to thank me for all the hard work and care they’d received and then slip something into their Complan, something completely untraceable to ease them on their way to visit St Peter.

    The only thing I’m not planning on… is getting caught.

    Like

    1. This short story was right up my street, Kevin. I’m also hoping she doesn’t get caught and will then become the inspiration for more of your short stories.

      I’d like to read this one out on one of our future podcast episodes, if that would be OK with you?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for the kind comments Mike. I’d be honoured if you read it out on the podcast.

        Like

Leave a comment