Posted in Weekly Writing Prompt

Weekly Writing Prompt

Welcome to our weekly writing prompt.

Every Friday I will be posting a picture and inviting you to write a short story inspired by that picture. As an added challenge I will suggest a different word length for your story each week.

Don’t feel your story has to have a murder mystery theme to it – simply write whatever the picture conjures up in your mind.

It would be great if you could share your stories. You can do this by putting your story in the comments section below. Let’s go.

Writing Prompt

Here is the picture prompt for this week. The word length for this week is a story of exactly 150 -words.

Have fun and don’t forget to share your story in the comments below. Every now and again we will read some of them out in our podcast.

Author:

Hello, my name is Mike Jackson. If you have any comments about the post you have just read I'd love to read them.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Prompt

  1. In the quiet hum of the wind, I walk alone, the gravel crunching softly under my feet. Me and Teddy, we’re going somewhere far today, somewhere no one can find us. Mum says I shouldn’t wander off, but she doesn’t understand. Teddy does.

    “Teddy,” I whisper, as the breeze pulls at my hair, “it’s just us now. Do you think it’s going to be better there?” I clutch him tighter, his large, soft body almost dragging on the ground. He’s heavy, but I don’t mind. He’s all I have.

    They all say it’s going to be okay, that things will get better. But they don’t see what I see; they don’t feel what I feel. At night, when the shadows creep along my walls, it’s Teddy’s presence that chases them away. Not their empty promises.

    “Teddy, you won’t leave me, right?” The path stretches empty and long before us, winding into a distance I can’t quite see. I’m scared, a little. But as long as I have Teddy, as long as we can walk this path together, maybe, just maybe, we’ll find a place where the shadows can’t touch us, a place where we can just be.

    It’s just us, Teddy. Just us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I spotted her strolling along the lane that leads to my country estate dragging a bright yellow cuddly lion behind her.

    I pulled over and wound down my window. “Hey there, are you lost?” I asked in my most child friendly voice.

    “Yes Mister” she sobbed, “my Daddy said to wait here and he’d be back, but I don’t think he is coming”

    “Why don’t you jump in the back and I’ll take you back to my house and we can try contacting him”

    “Fanks Mister” she said and her eyes lit up with glee.

    I’d not driven more than 50 yards when I heard a metallic click and felt something cold and hard pressed into the back of my head and a gravelly voice growled “The game’s up Mister, you’ve abducted your last victim”

    I glanced in the rear view mirror and saw the lion clutching a .45 revolver  

    Like

Leave a comment